Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Playwright Festival 2017



July 29, 2017
8:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Event Categories:
, ,


Roger T. Sermon Community Center
201 N Dodgion St
Independence, MO 64050 United States
(816) 325-7370

Join us for an evening of comedy and drama as we perform eight never seen before short plays, submitted by playwrights from around the world.

Performance Dates:  July 27, 28, 29, 2017 at 8 pm and July 30, 2017 at 2 pm

Selected Plays and Cast

  • HOMECOMING by Jeffery Strausser, Directed by Patti Shockley
    • Nora Graham — Mary Morris
    • Walter Graham — Kevin Elmore
    • Celeste — Lanessa Hickman
  • POST NORA STRESS DISORDER by Hal Corley, Directed by Mitchell Ward
    • Dr. Solness — Larry Morris
    • Torvald Helmer — Matt Hentges
  • STORY ROAD by Mark Cornell, Directed by Kim Hentges
    • Cleveland — Matt Hentges
    • Daughter — Kylee Cox
  • THE FIELD by Tom Cavanaugh, Directed by Noah Price
    • Janetta — Jackie Cain
    • Boy — Aric Wright
  • THE RED TRUCK by Rhea MacCallum, Directed by Cece McFarland
    • Auggie — Aric Wright
    • Victor — Alexander Adams
  • THE SUITCASE by Stephen Cooper, Directed by Mary Morris
    • Kaitlin Portman — Jackie Cain
    • Patricia Portman — Shannah Godfrey
    • Coleman Evans — Damien Miller
  • THE WALKING ADVISOR by Julie Ana Rayne, Directed by Matt Hentges
    • Jill — Davida Terrell
    • Riley — Audrey Hentges
  • WHO ARE YOU GOING AS? by Daniel Curzon, Directed by Mindi Thompson
    • Owner — Wendy Buchheit
    • Marcher — Mike Wimpy

How the Playwright Festival Works:

The selection committee has chosen eight brand new short plays to produce from those submitted. Each play is given to a different director, and auditions are held for casting. Since this is a fundraising event, there is no budget given for the productions. Directors must use existing props and costumes, and sets are minimal. After each performance, audience members at the Playwright Festival are encouraged to vote for their favorite short play, and awards are given for Best Production and Best Script.